top of page

A Letter to Menopause


So I knew that once I had my hysterectomy and had my ovaries removed (yes, I pulled an Angelina Jolie!), I would go into full-blown menopause. Research shows that going into surgical menopause can cause the side effects to be worse than easing your way into it over a number of years. Of course I learned this little tidbit after surgery!

Well every since this chick named menopause showed up in my hospital room, I knew we would not be friends. She was sassy and mean and tried her best to light my ass on fire from the inside out! She would visit for a while to make me miserable and then leave only to return when I least expected it.

When I had a moment to cool off (literally!)I wrote her a message in case she showed up while I was on siesta (code word for codeine) and it went like this...

Hello Menopause,

I can't say that I am pleased to meet your acquaintance. I have been told so much about you and rumor has it that you are a force to be reckoned with. Well, I hope you know that you have met your match, girlfriend!

Just because I glisten from the steady embers that radiate from my head to my toes don't mean that I can't use all that heat to fuel my dreams and purpose for the life I am designing. I know you think you're bad just because you can keep me up at night, but I will use that time to work on my passion projects that will awaken a renewed sense of being in this world.

It seems like everyone is afraid of your ass and worries about how their lives will change with you in it. I'm actually looking forward to seeing just what you got...I look forward to seeing who I will become on the other side of your wrath and inconvenience in my life. I'm ready, willing and able to make it through with flying colors!

With every bead of moisture that bubbles at the nape of my neck or trickles down to my breasts and settles in a pool of water in my belly button (which I can't feel because of the damn hysterectomy), I will fight you!

So go on with yourself and leave me to my amazing, brilliant and joy-filled life. There's definitely not room for both of us and I so I say, "bye, felicia!"

 

  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter - Black Circle
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page